Mail Server Help
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old January 10th, 2005, 03:32 PM
msc msc is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 39 msc User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 7 h 13 m 6 sec
Reputation Power: 4
Stop this drone ??

Finally got postfix working (happy about that). Now I am trying to
tweak it a bit. I keep getting hits from some drone or someone. I can seem to block it ? Is it possible to block this? How ??

Mandrake Linux 10, Postfix version 2.1.0-pre-20040209.

Log file shows
postfix/smtpd[2552]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[222.101.164.186]: 554 <7362543@daum.net>: Relay access denied; from=<love@yahoo.com.au> to=<7362543@daum.net> proto=SMTP

This is repeated all day and all night 24/7. The ip address changes from 222.101. to 222.120 and back and forth.

Thanks for any help.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 12th, 2005, 02:42 PM
dba_frog's Avatar
dba_frog dba_frog is offline
cave painting, the 1st Opn Src
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 394 dba_frog User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 18 h 55 m 5 sec
Reputation Power: 6
try an entry into your /etc/tcp.stmp file. This should block the IP from hitting your email server.

file syntax::
Quote:
127.:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
This one sez :: HEY LET my localhost have it's mail
Quote:
222.101.:allow,RBLSMTPD="-IP Blocked :: Listed as SPAMMER"
This would let the email onto your system, but would reject it and send the 'Listed as SPAMMER' notification to them. This is playing NICE with spammers...
Quote:
222.101.:deny
F ' EM ~ This turfs the bast@rds from my system. I got no time to be nice to spammers.


USE xxx.xxx.:deny and rid your system of the infestation...
__________________
Curious by Nature,
Linux by Choice

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 13th, 2005, 05:38 AM
msc msc is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 39 msc User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 7 h 13 m 6 sec
Reputation Power: 4
Thanks for the reply. I checked the file /etc/tcp.smtp and it was not on my system. I made a file and put the ip.:deny command in it, however it is not doing anything. I don't know which service would use this file ? or why I didn't have it to begin with?

What must I do for the file to take affect ?

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 13th, 2005, 07:28 AM
dba_frog's Avatar
dba_frog dba_frog is offline
cave painting, the 1st Opn Src
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 394 dba_frog User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 18 h 55 m 5 sec
Reputation Power: 6
http://www.es.qmail.org/documentaci...mail-FAQ-9.html
check this link...It looks like you need to update the tcpserver rules and then reboot ~ how very Redmond, Wa of it

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help > Stop this drone ??


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 3 hosted by Hostway