1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile Choosing an Email server- Help- Newbie

Hi All,
    I am a newbie to the email server world. My company currently has Exchange Server 2003 with only OWA (outlook Web Access), and has frequent reboots due to hard disk space on the email server. The logical solution would be to enable the settings for outlook (client) so that the data can be loaded onto the local hard disk.

Questions:
    1.How do you enable the settings on Exchange server 2003 to allow outlook access which currently has only OWA settings?

2. Is there a linux based email server that supports outlook on vmware or any virtualization platform to avaoid the reboots.

3. Say if the company is willing to upgrade to exchange 2010, using vmware can I avoid buying the windows 2008 server or virtualize the existing windows 2003 server and use it on VMWARE.

What would the best cost effective solution be to avoid the frequent reboots ?

Thank you
    Neo
  3. No Profile Picture
    Grumpier old Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What would the best cost effective solution be to avoid the frequent reboots ?
    It sounds to me like more disk storage, or a review of the settings in exchange that limits mailbox sizes.

If your problem is due to users storing too much in their mailboxes even if you implement a different mail server you'll have the same problem, unless you change the mailserver policies.
    ======
    Doug G
    ======
    Bartender to Rene Descartes "have another beer?" Descartes: "I think not" and he vanished.
    --Alfred Bester
  5. No Profile Picture

Smile

Originally Posted by Doug G
    It sounds to me like more disk storage, or a review of the settings in exchange that limits mailbox sizes.

If your problem is due to users storing too much in their mailboxes even if you implement a different mail server you'll have the same problem, unless you change the mailserver policies.