1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Exclamation Quite the computer problem

Here's my computer problem. I was a computer major in college, and I've got plenty of experience, yet this just boggles my mind. My desktop computer that is running Windows 98 SE(I know, I know, but hey, I like to play old DOS games, and at least it isn't ME. ) resets one day. No blue screen, nothing of that nature, just make a clicking sound of sudden loss of power to the fans and the rest of the machine, then resets. I figured, I'll just let that go for now since my virus software which is up to date on it's definitions hadn't found anything, and I didn't have time to examine it.

Well, about a week or two later, it starts reseting over and over again in the middle of the night, so I wake up from the sonud, get frustrated, turn it off, and figure I'll deal with it in the morning. Morning rolls around, I turn it on, it sits for about anywhere between a minutes to three minutes with a blank screen, flickers some red across the screen, then goes to POST (Power On Self Test), starts loading Windows, then once it gets to when it should actually start going into Windows, it reboots itself again.

The next time it starts up, it gives me the choices of Safe Mode, etc. So I boot it into Safe Mode, to check to see if it's the something in the startup, my Win.INI file, anything. I'm looking through my files, when after about five minutes it resets again. No blue screen or anything, just the click and reboots. After it gets through the Windows loading screen it reboots just like before.