1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Keys / Relationships / Cascades

hi,

I would like a little help understanding how foreign key relationships and cascading operations work.

If I have a master table 'Contacts' and a linked table 'HomeAdd'.

If I create a foreign key in 'HomeAdd' to the 'Contacts' table and allow cascade deletes.

Which table deletes from which?

If I delete a record from 'Contacts', then I want the 'HomeAdd' record to also be deleted, but if I delete a record from 'HomeAdd' I DO NOT want the 'Contacts' record deleted.

Can someone clarify which table the relationship should be created in to ensure the cascade is only one way and the correct way!

Aside -> the 'HomeAdd' table is not in correct normal form as it has it's own primary auto increment key so technically the Contacts -> HomeAdd is 1 to many, but should be 1 to 1.

Should I alter this / do I need to alter this before the correct relationship can be set up?

Many thanks,
    1DMF
    Free MP3 Dance Music Downloads

To err is human; To really balls things up you need Microsoft!
  3. SQL Consultant
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by 1DMF
    If I delete a record from 'Contacts', then I want the 'HomeAdd' record to also be deleted, but if I delete a record from 'HomeAdd' I DO NOT want the 'Contacts' record deleted.
    this is exactly how it works

deleting a "parent" row will also delete all related "child" rows (where the "child" has the FK to the "parent")

Aside -> the 'HomeAdd' table is not in correct normal form as it has it's own primary auto increment key so technically the Contacts -> HomeAdd is 1 to many, but should be 1 to 1.
    if you really mean 1 to 1, combine the tables
    r937.com | rudy.ca
    please visit Simply SQL and buy my book
  5. Contributing User

So which ever table has the FK, that is considered the child?

And all deletes only cascade parent -> child and not the other way round?

-------------------