1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Conceptualization Failure

hmmm...

I'm trying to wade through some tutorials (which seem to be rehash of 1NF, 2NF, etc.) to find and understand a concept. Not being a dev, I'll explain with some simple items and hope someone understands my rambling and can direct me to a place with more info.

So, I've got three tables in the same database:

Customer
    cust_id <- primary key
    name_l
    name_f
    address

Equipment
    eq_id <- primary key
    make
    model
    serial_no <-- note that this is NOT primary key for a variety of reasons. SN may be missing, etc. so it is invalid for such use.

Repair
    service_id <- primary key
    date
    work_performed
    billing_stuff

I've worked through the 1-3NF and feel comfortable that I've reduced sets to lowest common denominator.

Here's where I'm 'confused' -- how do you tie the pieces together? When I want to look at customers, I want to see the equipment they own, and the service history

When I look at equipment, I need to know who owns it and if I've worked on it before.

I've been trying to work through 'links' and that makes sense, but there's a fundamental flaw for me -- I create a record for a client, I need to remember what the client_id is and put it into the next table, etc. - there are about 10 related tables, and trying to remember what the ID is from one end to the other is a problem -- as is the concept that one client could have 10 pieces of equipment -- and may have had multiple repairs on each one, throwing the numbering scheme out of shape quickly.

I guess the part I don't understand is how you tie the different id's together to make a complete record that makes sense in a query.

What am I missing from understanding this puzzle?

Thanks much in advance.
    Last edited by drbob001; January 5th, 2013 at 06:19 PM. Reason: A couple of small repairs
  3. No Profile Picture
    Still Learning