1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Loading Foreign Keys

So I am new to MySQL. I have been reading a lot and I understand the concept of foreign keys and primary keys, but the thing I don't get is how you actually load the foreign keys into the table. I am working with a database with 4 Million rows so I can't exactly insert manually the values. I think I have thought of a way to do it, but it seems like a very inefficient way of doing it (not to mention there could be some errors)

So here is what I am working with. I have a very large database with several columns. I want to normalize the table. So for instance I want to create another table with address. So I take the distinct address and create a new table that has the primary key as site_id which auto increments. So now I want to use the site_id as a constraint for the original table.

This is the way I was thinking of loading the data.. I could now use a join with the matching address' and select the address from my first table and the site_id from the address table. I could then put this into an output file, then load this file back into my originally table (only the foreign key column). After this I could drop the address columns from the original table.

So I thought this seemed very backwards and inefficient and surely MySQL (SQL in general) has a more logical, efficient process of doing this . Any pointers?? First post, and any response is much appreciated. Thanks!
  3. Wiser? Not exactly.
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

You don't really "load" foreign keys. You just describe what is a key and what it references when you create your tables. As your tables get filled with data then the foreign key constraints will be enforced helping to keep things intact.