1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Multi rows of same data

Code:
    SELECT oc_option_value_description.option_id, oc_option_value_description.name, oc_product_option_value.quantity FROM oc_option_value_description LEFT JOIN oc_product_option_value ON oc_option_value_description.option_id = oc_product_option_value.option_id WHERE product_id = 447 AND oc_option_value_description.option_id = 11
    Hi

I haven't posted all the table data just yet as this seems it could be a simple fix.

I am quite new to mysql/php but am trying to learn more technical code.

I run the above sql code and it should return 3 rows, i know this for a fact, but it actually returns 9, it returns 3 of each row.

Is it just something im missing off? i have googled but can seem to run into an article or post about this error.

if you need to see my database structure im happy to post it.

Kind regards and many thanks in advanced

cheers

jamie
  3. Turn left at the third duck

Hi Jamie,

A three turning into a nine, at first that sounds like a cross join, but...

it should return 3 rows, i know this for a fact
    The one sure thing is that the query returns exactly what it should.

Hard to tell just like that, but a few questions / observations to move things along.
    - Which table does product_id (from the WHERE condition) come from?
    - A minor syntax tip: if option_id is a foreign key in the value_description table, your ON clause can be written more compactly with USING:
    [LEFT] JOIN... USING (option_id)
    - Are you sure you need a LEFT join, and not a plain join?
    - What makes you say that the query should only return three rows? If you run a simpler query just on the table on the left side of the join, how many rows do you get?

For instance, assuming product_id is part of the LEFT table, what happens with

Code:
    SELECT option_id, `name`    FROM   oc_option_value_description  WHERE product_id = 447 AND option_id = 11