Thread: MySql newbie.

1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I'm in the process of creating a product catalog. Each product has a unique code which has to be entered by the user at the time of entering new products into the table.

How can I prevent duplicate codes from being inserted into the table??

Thanks,

Ranesh.

3. No Profile Picture
    RyanP
    do a select query with the new number, if the query returns any rows (mysql_num_rows($qh) > 0) display error, if not, insert the record into the table
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

What is $qh ?

(Please excuse my ignorance....I'm a newbie.)

thnx.

Ranesh.
  7. No Profile Picture
    RyanP
    that's your query handler variable
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You definitely don't want to be doing it the way Ryan's just suggested unless you can possibly help it (sorry Ryan!). There are some major issues with the method that's been outlined which I'll detail in a moment. First, here's how you'd be better off doing it, if possible.

All you need to do to ensure that the DB doesn't get multiple rows with the same ID (which should be unique) is to specify that the column containing that unique ID can only contain unique values. This is done by specifying a key on the column -- it can either be the primary key (basically, just a unique indexed key), or simply a unique key. To add a unique key to your table use the following:
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">code:</font><HR><pre>
    ALTER TABLE mytable ADD UNIQUE (my_unique_column)
    [/code]

If you're going to be doing a lot of lookups via this column, you can also make it all a lot faster by adding an index:
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">code:</font><HR><pre>
    ALTER TABLE mytable ADD INDEX (my_unique_column)
    [/code]

So, now the reasons for not using the other method suggested: