1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Planning stage for mysql

Hello all,

I am fairly new at creating a website but can handle myself with a database. I am in the planning stage of developing a website and trying to figure out my requirements:

I will operate a website where users can log-in and use the site either as a landlord or as a tenant with relationships between the two.

my questions is this:

I know how to setup my database when only one landlord with multiple properties are involved with tenants. What I am not sure about is how to store data online with the database(s) when various landlords that are not related to each other sign up to administrate their tenants. would I need to create a new database for each client? or can they all use the same database but with different [id] and privileges?

Right now I am doing a project for one company but while thinking about it I figured why not offer the same online application to everyone who wants to use it. The thing I need to figure out is my space requirement and bandwith and how to setup a domain with the right host and not knowing how many database I would end up with at the end is where I am stuck.
  3. Contributing User

Well, it is not easy to get your idea, or your description of business-processes. Perhaps you'd better try to compose your thoughts and write more proper specification.

However, the short answer to your doubts is - no.

You need only one database and only one user credentials for any number of clients of your website.

Your web-site manages end-user names, passwords and roles, but when web-site itself (for example PHP script) talks to database, it uses a single database account.

I could not explain you how you should do it exactly since I do not know your business-process. However I can give you an example.

See, you have LANDLORDS and TENANTS. Put them into two different tables