1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Procedure and function help

Hi everyone, I am new to mysql and trying to learn procedures and functions. a little background to the problem I am having. I have a table with 3 colums ( authID, AuthName, timestamp) I am trying to write a procedure that will return the authName when the authID is entered so pretty much example

If authName = 5 then print the authors name. this is what I have

DELIMITER $$

Create PROCEDURE Getauthorsname1 ( IN authID INT, OUT authName VARCHAR (100))

BEGIN

SELECT authName from authors where authID = authName;

END $$

DELIMITER ;

CALL Getauthorsname1 (2, @authName);

When I call the procedure I am not getting any errors, however I am not getting anything outputted either.

Problem 2

Same table but I need to create a function that will return the number of even authors from the authID colum this is what I have so far I am not sure on how to write the script for even only so I am trying authID > 10

create function Num_Authors(authID INT)
    returns INT
    select COUNT(*) "Number of Authors"
    FROM authors
    WHERE authID > 10;

This function will not run I am trying to figure out what to do

Thanks for your help in advance,

John
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

Originally Posted by John_in_Parrish
    When I call the procedure I am not getting any errors, however I am not getting anything outputted either.
    I'm sure you do get output, namely an empty set.

Look at your query. That doesn't look right. Using the same name for the parameters and the columns also isn't a good idea. Which one is which in your query? And what exactly is the purpose of the OUT parameter if you don't use it anywhere?

This function will not run I am trying to figure out what to do
    "Will not run"? What does that mean? And what's this weird "Number of Authors" thing? Is that a comment? Then there must be a double dash -- in front of it.