1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How do i find a specific string in an entire db?

Hello all,

Hope this is the right place for the question, apologies if its not.

I imagine the question posed above is possible, but I'm not 100% sure. I have no idea what to write as I'm new to SQL.

Could someone please help me in trying to answer this question.

Im looking to search a MySQL database for the following string
    "Grinding and sharpening".

Your help as always is greatly appreciated and welcome.

Kind regards
    MG
  3. SQL Consultant
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

first, you will have to do some investigation and determine all the tables in the database

then, for each table, you will have to do some investigation and determine all the character columns which are long enough to hold the string you're looking for

then, for each table, write a query that looks like this --
    Code:
    SELECT * 
      FROM daTable
     WHERE column3 LIKE '%Grinding and sharpening%'
        OR column5 LIKE '%Grinding and sharpening%'
        OR column7 LIKE '%Grinding and sharpening%'
    in this example, column3, column5, and column7 are the character columns that are longer than 23 characters

repeat for every table
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Hi thanks for the reply.

So once i know which tables allow the length of string, use the query you provided on all tables, changing 'daTable' to the name of the table.

Thanks and regards
    MG
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Hello All,

please bare with me here, as im not sure if i'll be clearly expressing what i mean.

When i've used SQL server in past, i've been able to view the entire table as one large diagram, and see how all the tables connect to one another. is this possible in MySQL?

kind regards
    MG
  9. SQL Consultant

Originally Posted by mind_grapes