1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I am totally new to mySQL. So some expert advice would be a god send.

I have just developed a web site that uses
    ASP pages to connect to an Access database via a DNS-less ADO connection. Now I find out that although my ISP supports ASP they do not support Access databases directly but use this thing called mySQL??.

I want the owner of the web site to just be able to modify and upload a database to the web site.

My problem is that I have not got a clue as to how to go about this using mySQL.

Do I need to convert my Access database to a mySQL format or can mySQL interface directly with such a database?

If I do need to convert my database...how do I do it? Also how does the web site owner then easily modify the contents of this database (in a nice easy interface such as Access)?

How do I connect to the databse on my ASP page (I understand I need to use ODBC??)?

So many questions and so little time!!

Any pointers in the right direction would be very much appreciated.

If you got this far then thanks for reading!

Regards

Steve Wiggins
  3. .Net Developer
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

<<
    Now I find out that although my ISP supports ASP they do not support Access databases
    directly but use this thing called mySQL??.
    >>

since your ISP has mysql installed then you don't have to worry.

you can transfer data from your msaccess database to mysql.you can find out the details from this forum searching "data transfer from msaccess to mysql".

i think ODBCconnectivity would be very easy with Mysql.Your ISP must have installed proper drivers.
    i haven't used mysql with asp.so i can't say too much.

------------------
    SR -
    shiju.dreamcenter.net

"The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge..."
  5. No Profile Picture

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Steve Wiggins: