1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A million tables in a database?

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie so kindly excuse if my question seems a bit dumb.

If I am thinking of developing a database application and I feel that my database should have a million tables - I don't know if there is a limit to the number of tables in a DB and would like to know- would that be a good or a bad thing ?

SO if that's the thought in my head, would that indicating that I have some bad design ideas going on in my head or would that be ok?

If having a million tables in a DB is permitted and OK, would that cause performance issues like a slow down while trying to look up a particular table in the DB ?

Thanks all !
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Originally Posted by ajoo
    would that be a good or a bad thing ?
    Definitely a bad thing! Why do you think you need a million tables?
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Hi, Thanks for the reply. Well certainly not a million tables, but I thought would keep the number high.

Well I am thinking of an application where I hope I would have a very large number of registered users who would login every day to complete a certain task. So I imagined that as the number of users increased and each had to login everyday, it could result in a whole lot of traffic and if they all accessed the same DB it could cause a whole lot of issues of conflict as there could be a whole lot of them trying to log in there work in every day. Even for as many as 10,000 users who log in daily, that would be a lot of them vying for the same table in the db at any given time of the day resulting in DB access conflicts.

So I thought I should give each user a table of his own that he could use to record his work.

So kindly point me in the right direction. Thanks loads for the reply and looking for more help.
  7. SQL Consultant