1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

SQL Application Timeouts Advice

I am a project manager who is being given what I perceive to be the run around. Here is the information:

An app we have is running but is crashing as the SQL timeout value set in it (not the server) has been exceeded. (30 seconds).

The advice I am being given is this is valid as nothing should take more than thirty seconds. Even when I run the select statement on its own it takes 52 seconds to bring back 500K records.

My question is surely the developer needs to simply increase the timeout values? I cant understand his reluctance?

Could you advise me why he might be reluctant or am I right?

Any advice would be very helpfull.
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I assuming you're talking about the query timeout, not the connection timeout.

30 seconds is quite reasonable. In that time the server should have begun sending the data back. If not then, very likely, the database/tables aren't optimized as needed, and that's the problem that needs fixing.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix
    I assuming you're talking about the query timeout, not the connection timeout.

30 seconds is quite reasonable. In that time the server should have begun sending the data back. If not then, very likely, the database/tables aren't optimized as needed, and that's the problem that needs fixing.
    I am not talking about connection timeout. It is execution timeout. OK what is happening is everything is working OK, the query starts executing but does not finish in 30 seconds and the application then abends. The application isnt giving the SQL statement long enough to complete (even though it has started).

Thats the issue.

Thanks for the reply I hope my information is a little clearer now.

Why would the app time out?

Thanks
  7. Transforming Moderator

Originally Posted by OneEyedJack