1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question interview help plz!

Hi friends,
    I am very new to c# world. I am preparing for an intern interview. I got these questions from my last interview. I want to be prepared for my comming interview so if u could help me out ... I will appreciate it.

Compare and contrast the .NET platform with the J2EE platform. (Pick one or two points and describe.)

Please elaborate on the differences between Abstract classes and Interfaces in C# or VB.NET.

How do Value types and Reference types differ? Why might you explicitly define a type as a Value type?

What is a user defined conversion?

What are delegates? Provide an example of a problem which is elegantly solved using delegates.

What is Remoting in .NET?

Can you use pointers in C#?

What does C#.NET provide to safeguard sections of code for multithreaded use? How would you protect an instance variable vs. a static variable?

Thanks in advance.

3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Compare and contrast the .NET platform with the J2EE platform. (Pick one or two points and describe.)

They probably want you to talk about differences in the .NET and Java JIT compiler/garbage collector.
    Some obvious points:
    1) Java is cross platform.
    2) .NET performs extremely well (almost as fast as machine language).
    3) As a language C# is almost identical to Java.

Please elaborate on the differences between Abstract classes and Interfaces in C# or VB.NET.

An interface does not have any method implementations where an abstract class can have both implemented and non-implemented methods. I believe a parent class can only implement one abstract class where it can implement multiple interfaces.

How do Value types and Reference types differ? Why might you explicitly define a type as a Value type?