1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Have .resx files done, need entire website localized,

Localized so that, when a client goes to the website, they have the option to click on a flag and view the entire website in that language.

Using: Visual Studio 2010 / asp.net 4.0 / vb - I am NOT a programmer, just made my company's website using the above

I learned how to create a drop-down box to go to my language translation for that page, but that page only. When you go to the next, you'd have select from the drop down box all over again. I have 6 languages and all the .resx files in apps_globalresources directory.

I want them to be able to click a flag in the beginning, and view the entire website in their desired language. Is this simple, considering all I've done, or is this complex? Any guidance would be sincerely appreciated!

Jason Weber
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by jasonpaulweber
    Localized so that, when a client goes to the website, they have the option to click on a flag and view the entire website in that language.

Using: Visual Studio 2010 / asp.net 4.0 / vb - I am NOT a programmer, just made my company's website using the above

I learned how to create a drop-down box to go to my language translation for that page, but that page only. When you go to the next, you'd have select from the drop down box all over again. I have 6 languages and all the .resx files in apps_globalresources directory.

I want them to be able to click a flag in the beginning, and view the entire website in their desired language. Is this simple, considering all I've done, or is this complex? Any guidance would be sincerely appreciated!

Jason Weber
    Dude... you're totally there.

You need to set the selection from that first page into a SESSION VARIABLE. That variable would then be available on the other pages, to see what language they had chosen.