1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with Internet Connection Sharing

Hey.
    I have been trying to set up ICS with just 2 computers, a desktop and a laptop.
    If it is only 2 comps I assume I can avoid buying a hub or a switch?
    I have set my working internet connection on my #1 NIC to share, and I have run a crossover cable from my #2 NIC to my laptop's NIC.
    I have tested the continuity of my cable and I think I have some wires severed, which is probably why it says "network cable unplugged"
    So before I go out and get a new cable, I was wondering what settings to use and how to get ICS set up.
    I am pretty new to networking so I was wondering if I have to manually set IPs, Gateways, DHCP, subnet masks and DNS servers or if I could set everything to auto.
    I was also wondering if I could use a normal Cat5 cable with a crossover adapter?
    Desktop - Windows XP Home Ed and two Realtek RTL8139/810X Ethernet PCI NIC.
    Laptop - Windows XP and Mandrake Linux 9.1 dual boot and one SiS 900 Ethernet NIC
    Thanks, any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by pinglocalhost; October 19th, 2003 at 04:12 AM.
  3. Full Access
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

I have been trying to set up ICS with just 2 computers, a desktop and a laptop.
    OK
    If it is only 2 comps I assume I can avoid buying a hub or a switch?
    Yes; just run a crossover cable between the NIC's.
    I have tested the continuity of my cable and I think I have some wires severed, which is probably why it says "network cable unplugged"
    Probably, yes. Make sure your cable works properly.
    So before I go out and get a new cable, I was wondering what settings to use and how to get ICS set up.
    Try asking in the Windows forum. Or maybe someone in this forum has an idea about how to do this in Windows. Any takers?
    I am pretty new to networking so I was wondering if I have to manually set IPs