1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Exclamation Group Policys or Novel HELP!!!

hey!
    i need help setting up Group Policys or Novell. If any one can help me, iam a complete newbie to all this stuff but this is how it should work:

one server (windows 2000 server) that has all the Username and password and GP's and then 5 other computers, same Workgroup or domain name, and when a user wants to use a computer, they use anyone of theos, and they have the same resitrctions on all the computers as set my admin from the server and GP.

Hope this makes sence to some one... lol. cause i have no idea... i actaully volanteer at a non-profit youth organization, and they asked me to get information and set it up, but all the tutorials and site i been to seem to be talking in a whole diffrent laungage... lol

so if any one can please help me out that would be great full.
    you are more then welcome to AIM, MSN, or YIM me anytime
    AIM: mikepatel2002
    YIM: mitulpatel2003
    MSN: mitulpatel2000@hotmail.c o m

Thank you!
  3. No Profile Picture
    network dude
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Not really sure what you are asking here why are you mentioning Novell?

Ok here it is in a windows environment setup a domain and add the PCs to the domain and add the domain users group to to workstation policy you want. now enyone in the domain can log on to any workstation without it having local users setup on each.

In a Novell environment you would use a product called zenworks (ZFD) and enable dynamic local user. How this works is cool ... the user logs into NDS and for what ever group you put them in it will create a new local workstation account (name same as NDS login with a generic password) in the local group you specified in nds when the user logs off the workstation it will delete the local user it created. This is great as Lopht cant get SAM files.
  5. No Profile Picture