1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

TZ210 vs NSA 240

Are there any Sonicwall gurus out there? We are currently borrowing a NSA 240 from the ISP (we're good friends with the owner). Obviously we have to get that back and our CDW rep is pushing for the TZ210. There's about 50 people at this company that use VOIP phones as well. Any idea of which one they should go with? Our CDW rep said the NSA would be a bit overkill. I'm not too experienced with Sonicwall products so I'm not sure which one would be the better option.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

What is the $$$ difference?

Here are the specs-at-a-glance:

http://www.sonicwall.com/uk/TZ_Series.html

http://www.sonicwall.com/uk/8992.html

The NSA has more features, and is quicker with it seems better connectivity, but in terms of basic features they are both very good.

What do you NEED? Please list your requirements here. Might be something better/cheaper to look at that does what you need. I'm always aware of sales guys being on commission or getting bonuses for selling particular products ahead of what *I* require.

Best regards,
    AstroTux.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

The price difference is about $500. In terms of features needed, the 210 provides all the features we need (gateway AV, VPN support, LT2P, etc..). I guess my biggest concern is getting something with enough computing muscle.

The office only has about 40 employees, all of whom will be using VOIP (which both support SIP passthrough so that's not a problem). I guess my big concern is will the 210 get over-loaded with 40 people connected to it, plus VOIP traffic as well? The NSA has two processors for load balancing, but I don't know if it's needed.