#1
  1. No Profile Picture
    Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Unauthorized User


    Today when I was turning off my laptop I had a notification that said "turning off your computer will disconnect others logged into computer." I am the only person who uses my laptop and only I have a user account on it.
    Is it possible that someone who has network access was able to see my computer or what I was doing while I was on it? BTW, I was at home at the time this happened not at work.
  2. #2
  3. No Profile Picture
    Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    If that should happen again, you can always cancel.
    Then start the Task Manager (Control+Alt+Delete or right click on clock) and click on the tab that says "Users."

    Also if you don't trust that your firewall/antivirus, it may be time for an upgrade/update.

    Good luck,
    Michael H.
  4. #3
  5. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    14,247
    Rep Power
    9400
    Well, since this got bumped...

    I've seen a couple applications (don't remember which) that create users. One of those users could have been "logged in" at the time.
  6. #4
  7. No Profile Picture
    Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, I'm sorry about that. There were a couple that I replied to that were on the first page so I didn't even look at the date. Won't happen again.


    Respectfully,
    Michael H.

    Comments on this post

    • requinix agrees : it's useful information regardless

IMN logo majestic logo threadwatch logo seochat tools logo