1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Security when using a network switch

Hello

Complete newbie to networking and needed some advice.

I have a Wireless and 4 port internet router provided by my ISP and have all 3 ports used by other wired devices. I have 3 more machines I need to connect to the internet and so I was thinking of getting a 4 port Gigabit Ethernet Switch.

If I were to connect this switch to the 4th available port of my ISP wireless router, I presume all of the machines connected to that switch would be able to receive the internet connection.

My concern is that if someone were to connect to my ISP router via wireless (which I do for iphone and laptops), with the switch now connected to the ISP router, are people able to access files from the other machines that are connected to the switch?

I do not want this to happen as my aim is to have only the computers attached to the switch to talk to each other, share files, etc and not if anyone is accessing the internet router wirelessly.

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks
    Si
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

My concern is that if someone were to connect to my ISP router via wireless (which I do for iphone and laptops), with the switch now connected to the ISP router, are people able to access files from the other machines that are connected to the switch?
    Yes, assuming the machines are file sharing in some way.

Some routers allow you to configure "guest" wireless networks that are segregated from your main local network.

Alternatively you could configure the firewalls on each of the connected machines to block local traffic.

Using a second router instead of a switch would probably work too, although I've not set up a network in that way before.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around