1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile Switch and NAS redundancy

Hello!

First of all, thanks for accepting me. This is my first post here. Congratulations on the forums , they look great!.

I am a medium System Administrator, not an expert, and I am just wondering two things about networks:

1- Is there no redundancy for switches?. I have my LAN in a switch, but if it fails...is it my only option to replace the switch?. As far as I know, there is no possible failover cluster here, a hardware redundancy mechanism, as in a Exchange cluster, SQL cluster, etc.

2- We have a NAS with several RAID disks, but still it is only a NAS, so, again, if this fails, what could I do? . Should I consider to buy another NAS for redundancy?

Thanks a lot in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

It's a cost / benefit analysis:
    - How much money do you lose if the hardware goes down
    - What is the probability of the hardware going down
    - How much money does it cost to have redundant hardware

If the network is critical to the operation of your company then it would make sense to have spare hardware on hand in case of a failure.

I believe that it is possible to have redundant switches in a sense. Not in the same way as a cluster of server works, but by providing redundant pathways between key parts of the network. However, swapping out a single switch really would not take very long at all.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by E-Oreo
    It's a cost / benefit analysis:
    - How much money do you lose if the hardware goes down
    - What is the probability of the hardware going down
    - How much money does it cost to have redundant hardware