1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Secondary Router as VPN

I'm new to networking. I've never previously been interested as long as my devices connected to one another and were able to access the internet I was happy. But I've became interested in VPN's of late.

Ideally, I'd like to have my ISP provided router as is, with no VPN, and have a second router running a VPN so I can switch between WiFi networks at will.

I actually have a working setup like this, but I've used a cheap router to test whether it would work. I don't really understand how I've managed to set it up and I can't replicate the setup with a more powerful router.

I'm trying to achieve this with an Asus RT N66U running Asuswrt Merlin.

My VPN service is NordVPN. While they have user guides, the guide is only for setting up the OpenVPN client and doesn't cover setting the service up on a secondary router. I think I have the OpenVPN client set up correctly, but the setup between routers is guess work and trial and error.

Do I need to edit any settings on my primary router to achieve this?
    How should the secondary router be connected to the primary? Lan to Lan? Wan to Lan? Lan to wan?
    Does Asuswrt Merlin need to be access point mode, router mode, etc?

I know it's possible to set up rules for Asuswrt which will allow devices to bypass the VPN, but I much prefer the idea of being able to swap between networks as needed to maintain full download speed.

Thanks in advance for any help.
  3. No Profile Picture

I should add, the setup I currently have is running tomato shibby on the secondary router. I'm finding Asuswrt Merlin much harder to confugure
  5. Maddening Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by stevenatherton
    and have a second router running a VPN so I can switch between WiFi networks at will.
    That doesn't make sense: VPN has nothing to do with wifi.