1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

WHERE, Extract and basic inequality testing

Hello all,
    I am relatively new to Oracle DBs and much more experienced in MySQL, and I'm bumping into a few things that I don't really understand - firstly, how the "where" operator works.

Here's the basic setup: I have a table of events, with a date value called start_dt. I want to exclude any Sunday events in my query, so, simple enough, I enter:

Code:
    Select * 
    from events
    where to_char(start_dt, 'DAY') != 'SUNDAY'
    However, events with a Sunday date still show up. To prove this I used:

Code:
    select e.*, to_char(start_dt, 'DAY')
    from events
    low and behold, I do see 'SUNDAY' in the last field. So for whatever reason, the WHERE is not being applied in the way I expect.

Thinking that it could be a type comparison issue, I did the following:

Code:
    select e.*, to_char(start_dt, 'DAY'), to_char(start_dt, 'DAY') = 'SUNDAY'
    from events
    However, this generates an error ("FROM keyword not found where expected").

2 questions: 1 - is it possible to get true/false values in the select statement to check these (there are more fields where this is not behaving as I would wish), and 2, why am I still getting sunday events in my query in the first place?

Thanks a lot everyone!
  3. No Profile Picture

Oh, I should add my issue with Extract!

I have the same start_dt date field, and I can to_char(start_dt, "yyyy-mm-dd hh24:mi:ss") just fine. I can also extract(YEAR FROM start_dt) just fine. However, if I extract(hour from start_dt) it generates an error: "invalid extract field for extract source"

However, year, month, date, day, etc all seem to work just fine. None of the sub-day (hour, minute, second) seem to work.
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi,