1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Redesign Company IT - MySql to Oracle db

Hello everyone,

I am looking for advice and / or thoughts on the direction I am taking my company. To start off I am by trade a System Architect, Data Base Administrator, and Project Manager. I have been a Oracle DBA now for 18+ years, but have also worked with PostgreSQL, MySql, and SQL Server 2005. My company hired me to redesign their total IT Infrastructure.

Currently they are a Sun/Sparc (equipment) - Solaris 10 (OS) - running MySQL 5.0.51a (Community version DBs), with standing everything up with a 1 for 1 relationship for each customer. To say the least it is grossly inefficient. What I have designed and standing up is HP Blades using HP 3PAR network storage, using bare metal Virtualization of VMware 5, with using SUSE Enterprise edition Linux either on a DB server or as the Guest within VMs. Next each customer currently has their own MySQL 5.0.51a database another grossly inefficient way of doing things. Now having been a Oracle DBA now for 18+ yrs in Production/Dev/Test and Beta Testing all that time, for this company and our needs and use Oracle Standard edition of 11.2.0.3 would work quite nicely, plus introducing Multi Tenant database is the key. Thus each customer becomes their own Schema within the Oracle database and then multiple customers can be stoodup in a single database. My guess is about 10 per database, which would mean we would need 3-4 production databases.