1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Relativley new to SQL, need help with query

Hello, as the title says, I am fairly new to SQl. I am taking fundamentals of SQL at my college and we are using Oracle 10g express edition and I have this one homework problem that i can't figure out, nor does the book help...

Basically the table is for a book company and it lists book title, book code, type, price, publisher code (not in that order) And this one question asks to query the title and price of the lowest priced book. I get to here:

SELECT TITLE, MIN(PRICE)
    FROM BOOK;

(BOOK is the table name) anyways, i know I am doing the title query wrong becuase in this sense I am asking for all the titles, but only 1 price so i know that doesn;t work...the problem is I am at a wall and can't figure out how to basically tell it to retrieve the title for that one book with the lowest price. This is the only problem on the whole hw that has made me say "i quit" lol. I'm not trying to cheat, I just don't have any sense of how to structure it to only get that one book's title. Evrything I have thought of still has the query structred so it is asking for all the titles, not one pertaining to the lowest priced book, so I'm just about lost (i'm not that fustrated lol....just reeeallly stuck).

any help would be AWESOME.
    thanks everyone
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

OK. So think about the logic of the question.

This is the pseudo code you want
    SELECT TITLE, PRICE
    FROM BOOK
    WHERE PRICE = MIN(PRICE) IN BOOK

I leave it to you to figure out how to turn that into proper SQL syntax.

Also note that, the way you frame the question, you can have multiple titles returned.

Clive
  5. No Profile Picture
    Choose Life...

Could also use the "rownum" to select the top most record thats returned, which is also the smallest!

Code:
    SELECT title, MIN(price)
    FROM book
    WHERE rownum=1