1. The Queen of Typos
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

What Exactly Does "Use of implicit split to @_ is deprecated" mean?

I've seen the perl docs that says it clobbers the subroutine, but I don't understand what clobbering is either.

I'm fairly new to Perl so I find this perplexing.

The code I am receiving this error on is the following:

$ver = split "-", $ver;

$ver is a variable coming from an array.

Thanks!
  3. Y? Y!?
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Usually with the split function you need the lvalue to be an array:
    Code:
    my @array = split '-', $scalar;
    If the lvalue is a scalar as you have it, then (I think) it only returns the first element of the array.

I am puzzled exactly what you are trying to do with that line though. Can you describe what you are trying to accomplish?

[EDIT]
    Back to your original question. An implicit split (a split without an lvalue) such as:
    Code:
    split '-', $val;
    will split the $val scalar and place the results into the @_ default array variable.

The problem occurs if that line of code is placed in a subroutine, since subroutine parameters are passed in @_. What this means is that when you enter a subroutine, its parameters reside in @_. Then you replace those (possibly imporatant) parameters with whatever is returned from the split function. You have effectively 'clobbered' the subroutine parameters - they won't exist anymore.
    Last edited by mlh2003; October 27th, 2004 at 08:13 PM.
    print join'',(reverse sort map{/\d([a-z])\d/}split/\W/,'$5l6@314&60f%3h4#moo^1m2'),(map{/\d(\d)/}grep/\w\d/,reverse split/\W/,'a2&2b#9i*30%42'),(unpack"AA",(chr(0b110000).chr(0b110011)));
  5. The Queen of Typos

My problem is that I am reading in from a csv and then outputting to another csv.

Each file contains two columns, one for OS and another for Version.