1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Perl Newbie: grabbing output of an ext. file

Hi! I am still new to Perl, and I am having problems saving the output that comes from an external file.

I currently have a Perl script, which calls and executes an external program and prints the output to the console. I want to "grep" or get the output and store it into an array or variable so that I can use it to put it in a results file.

The words that the output is printing out is "File" and "Time." I am having trouble because it's not like I am using "printf OUTPUT" and it is going through an output pipe ...the external program just prints the output to console, but I can't edit the external program. Please help!! Thanks!!
  3. Contributing User

Well I am still new at perl too. So I don't know if this will help you or not. If your external file is .txt then below will load whatever is in the text file into an array. Like I said I am with you. I am still new at perl. So if it helped you great cool!

open (label, "<$Path to external file/blah.txt") || Error ('open', 'file');
    my @arrayname = <label>;

later
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks for the help. But that doesn't work. I am executing an external program which displays the results to the console. I want to grep or get the output that the external PROGRAM....and store it into an array or variable. Thanks!!
  7. Contributing User

ummm wow! I totaly miss under stood you! Well I will do a little research and if I find anything I will let you know.

later
  9. Perl Monkey
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

the far end of town where the Grickle-grass grows
    use backticks (and look in perldoc perlop and go down to "regexp-like quote operators" and look for "qx").

@lines = `ls`; #backticks ` not single quotes '

You're not the zao I went to Tennessee Tech with, are you?
  11. Contributing User