Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Some Regex Help - stuck newbie!

Hey guys,

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me here. I'm not that well versed with perl, but have managed to fashion and implement a few handy scripts with time. I've just hit a bit of a wall, with what I'm trying to do.

I have two datasets. One with a list of search probes, and another with masses of text, in which these probes exist. I'm a biologist, and the data comprises DNA sequences. The data I want to use as a probe will be structured like this:

>CCCCCCCCATGGATGGTTGATTGAGGTCTTGGAAAGATATGGTGATGACCAAAACAAATAC
    >GTTTTCCCCACATTTAAATTTGTCTATGAAT

And the data I wish to search for these lines in, would be the same, but with (perhaps) a little more surrounding text in each line:

>GAATGGATGAAGTGATGTCCCCCCCCCATGGATGGTTGATTGAGGTCTTGGAAAGATATGGTGATGACAAAACAAATACAGCACCTTATGTGCCTAATA GTCTAATAGGGAAAACAGATAAAT<
    >GAATGGATGAAGTGATGTCCCCCCCCCAATGGATGAAGTGATGTTTTCCCCACATTTAAATTTGTCTATGAATTTTCCCGGAACCTCTGAAAACTGTTTTAGTATTTCCTTGCATATGGCTAATTCAGATATAGAAAAGTGTACACGTACCTATATATGTGGGGAAATGTGGGGAAAAGAGGCGGAGAGTGGACGGA<

The bit in bold is an example of a line that matches (in this case, it matches the second line of the two probe sequences provided). What I want to be able to do is to get the script to read off each individual line in the file of probes, and search through the second, larger data file for that. If it finds the probe, I basically want to print out as much as 30 extra letters either side of it, and to then spit that out for further processes, which I've gotten to work, hopefully. The underlined bit above is the amount that I want to try and extract (30 characters either side of the match).

The bit of script I have thus far is:

#! usr/bin/perl #-w

open (A, "Probes.txt");

while ( @seqs = <A> )
    {
    }

open (B, "Sequences.txt");

while (@seqs2 = <B> )
    {

foreach $seqs2 (@seqs2)
    {