1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Running dos commands from perl (server side script)

Hi,

I am a newbie at Perl .. Have looked at this forum and other websites for soln. to my questions, but I havent found any thing useful.

What i am trying to do is a have a html form (input sent to perl script on server side) and the perl script runs "dos" commands on the server. This is for configuration mangement (building source code).. so I need the directory, file, etc names from the user. In the perl script I have simple dos commands like "cd d:\product" and "mkdir build_folder" , i also run specific software like Visual Source Safe from teh command line.

I can have the perl script behave like a batch file .. and run the dos commands. THis all works from the 'dos prompt' .. when i run perl script. When I try to use this on teh server, i cant run System() or exec() commands. Nothing happens, no error, etc

for example: system("dir");
    or exec("dir)"; produces no error or output.

Is there a way to do this ? I mean can perl be used to run commands / modify the server side file structure .. ?

Would be great if any one can point me to some helpful hints / resources on programming this ..

Thanks,
    Keeron
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Code:
    @results=`dir`;
    foreach $result (@results) {
     print "$result";
    }
    HTH
    --Ax
    Last edited by Axweildr; August 25th, 2003 at 03:34 PM.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally posted by Axweildr
    [code]
    @results=`dir`;
    foreach $result (@results) {
    print "$result";
    }
    [code]
    HTH
    --Ax
    Thanks axweildr,

I got by the initial problem by using chdir, mkdir .. (rmdir dosent seem to do any thing, I guess its permissions issue .. )