1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hello. I'm not a strong programmer, but I'm trying to figure out the basics of filling a database via form as well as accessing information after it's created. I would like to use MySQL and perl as the tools.

I've been researching this for about a week, and to this point, I haven't found real specific information on how to create the form(s) for the project. I've seen the webmonkey tutorial, but it refers to eperl, which I don't want to use unless it comes with the standard perl distribution. I have the perl dbi book by oreilly, but unfortunately, it doesn't go thru the form process in much detail.

I guess I'm looking for some good examples or a tutorial that explain these processes well. The database will only have one table and about ten or so fields which will be filled by users, e.g. name, address, phone... And the same users will be able to access it, maybe with a password. Any help will be appreciated. Please feel free to email if you need more information. Thnx.

Bob
  3. No Profile Picture

The Web Monkey tutorial at http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/...tw=programming is pretty good if rather long winded. This one is also not bad: http://webdeveloper.com/cgi-perl/cgi...ners_perl.html

Basically, you include a form in a Web page with HTML code like the following:

<form action="/cgi-bin/my_program.pl" method="post">
    <input type="text" name="firstname"><br>
    <input type="submit" value="Send!">
    </form>