1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I am trying to write a subroutine that will be passed a directory, search through it for all files ending in HTML, and then search through all the subdirectories looking for the same thing. I have figured out how to find the correct files in the directory that is passed to my subroutine, but I have no idea how to get into the subdirectories.

I am new at perl, and all help is appreciated!
  3. No Profile Picture
    freebsd
    #!/usr/local/bin/perl

$target_dir = "/path/to"; #no trailing slash

print "Content-type: text/htmlnn";
    @du = `du $target_dir`;
    foreach $line (@du) {
    ($size,$dir) = split (/s+/,$line);
    @ls = `ls -A $dir`;
    foreach $file (@ls) {
    @files = split (/s+/,$file);
    foreach $result (@files) {
    next if (-d "$dir/$result");
    if ($result =~ /.html$/) {
    print "$dir/$result<br>n";
    }
    }
    }
    }
    exit;
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

I still contend that using the system command's 'ls' and 'du' is very cheap of you. What if he's on a Windows system?
  7. No Profile Picture

I actually am on a windows system... right now, I'm getting the first part to work by opening a DIRHANDLE with the directory passed in, and using @files = readdir DIRHANDLE to get everhything into my array. But again, the subdirectories are stumping me.
  9. Contributing User

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">code:</font><HR><pre>
    $BASEDIR = "path/to/basedir";

chdir $BASEDIR or die "Cannot cd to $BASEDIR: $!n";
    traverse($BASEDIR,(stat('.'))[3]);

# @FILES now contains a list of file paths.

sub traverse {
    my ($dir,$nlink) = @_;
    my (@filenames,@subdirs);

opendir DIR, '.' or die "cannot opendir $dir: $!n";
    @filenames = grep { !/^..?$/ && !(-l $_) } readdir DIR;
    closedir DIR;

for (@filenames) {
    next unless stat($_) && -r _;
    -d _ && push(@subdirs,$_);