1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Cool Basic file open read/write syntax?

I'm a beginning perl programmer trying to revamp an existing program after our apache server updated their security read/write permissions. The guy that wrote the program is an experienced programmer (retired from our office) so I'm trying to make as few changes as possible to avoid doing any harm.

The line that's giving me grief is:
    open(INFO, "awk -F, '\$2==\"$stn\" {print \$0}' $infofile |");

which (I think) errors on open because perl defaults to open with r+w permissions, and I'm calling a dir with only read access.

How to fix this syntax to open the file with read only access?

I tried
    open(<INFO, "awk -F, '\$2==\"$stn\" {print \$0}' $infofile |");
    which returns a 'missing closing brackets <>' error, and

open(INFO, "<", "awk -F, '\$2==\"$stn\" {print \$0}' $infofile |");
    which returns no errors but doesn't read the file....

Any ideas? Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

That "guy" might be "a good programmer" in shell scripting, certainly not on Perl programming.

Perl does not default to opening a file in read/write mode. It's default is read mode.

I'm not an awk programmer, so I can't say exactly what that portion of the statement is doing other than it (awk) is reading the file and the Perl open statement is opening a pipe to capture that output.

It would be much cleaner and more efficient to leave awk out of the process and let perl do its work.

Code:
    open (INFO, '<', $infofile) or die "failed to open '$infofile' <$!>;
    or use a lexical var for the filehandle, which is the preferred method.
    Code:
    open (my $INFO, '<', $infofile) or die "failed to open '$infofile' <$!>;
    If you choose to keep the awk statement, then at the very least you need to add error checking on the open call; that's the or die ... portion of the statement I used.