1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Saving an image with background set to opaque

Hi there,

So I feel kinda frustrated that this silly error keeps occuring. I have been using Photoshop (CS5) for many years now, and not had this problem before.

I am developing a website and want to add a black box on a background with the opaceity set to around 60, so you can see the background through it.

The background is already uploaded on the template, so I am basically just making a black rectangle with some elements on it, and setting down the opacity.

But whenever I save it, it just saves as a grey block, instead of giving me the opaque features I want. I have tried saving for web & devices, set the preset to both PNG-24 and GIF, made sure transparency was ticked and interlace too, but nothing seems to work. Whatever way I save it, I still get the grey box.

Now, if i put in a background other than the squares of the transparent background, it works, but that's the only way I can get it to do so.

Any clues/hints on how to save the file proberly ?

Cheers, Rasmus
  3. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Diabolito
    Hi there,

So I feel kinda frustrated that this silly error keeps occuring. I have been using Photoshop (CS5) for many years now, and not had this problem before.

I am developing a website and want to add a black box on a background with the opaceity set to around 60, so you can see the background through it.

The background is already uploaded on the template, so I am basically just making a black rectangle with some elements on it, and setting down the opacity.

But whenever I save it, it just saves as a grey block, instead of giving me the opaque features I want. I have tried saving for web & devices, set the preset to both PNG-24 and GIF, made sure transparency was ticked and interlace too, but nothing seems to work. Whatever way I save it, I still get the grey box.