1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

help needed with a resolution problem

i am fairly new to photoshop, but not to design and so far i have been able to pick it up pretty well, except for a recurring problem i am having. i do some photography that i use in my designs, and when i use photoshop to open the photos to copy and move/paste them into my designs (or a larger, sort of main document), the picture pastes extremely small. i know this is a problem with resolution, but i am not sure how to fix it...originally i selected the photo image and went to "Image > Image Size" to set the resolution of the photograph to the same resolution as the main document i was trying to paste to (and i tried it the other way around too, changing the main document resolution) but the picture still pastes in a different size than the original. i have also noticed that sometimes i'll use "Image Size" to check the resolution and it will say, for example "100 pxls per inch," but the title bar of the document will say a different resolution, such as "file_Name @ 25% RBG." i think this might tie in somehow, but i'm not sure. any help that anyone could give would be greatly appreciated, as this is a very frustrating but basic problem. thank you in advance for your time.

-david
  3. Contributing User

Well David,

I think you are mixing two things. First of all, there is the SIZE of the image. You express this size in different formats, but, as you probably know, on a computer you usually talk about pixels. So you might have a picture of 500x300 pixels. This means that the picture is 500 (very) little squares wide and 300 (very) little squares in height.