1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

$_SESSION variable value not getting displayed

Hi!

I am a relative newbie to PHP. I learnt PHP on my own by studying PHP programs and reading as much as I could on the net.

I would like some help on one of the basic issues.
    I have written a PHP script that welcomes the user after successful login. The name of the user is displayed too after login. I have used $_SESSION variables for storing username, a code (that needs to be displayed) and have displayed it on the welcome page (part of the script below). The username gets displayed properly in the following script even the code is stored in the $_SESSION variable too but funnily isn't displaying!! If the code wasn't stored, then the reports that run using the code would have failed but the reports run too!! So I know that the code is stored properly in $_SESSION variable but when I want to display it on the welcome page it just doesn't display!! By the way, this happens especially when I run this script from a web server. From my local PHP server (on my dev platform), the script works perfectly!! It is weird that without getting ANY errors as such (like variable undefined etc.) I am unable to show this code on the welcome page. The code display is needed to let the user know that he/she can run the reports ONLY by providing this code for running reports as a parameter. I am clueless as to what could be wrong! The following code shows username stored properly by using $_SESSION['name'] directly! But not $_SESSION['cd']!! though the value exists for it (else would have got the error in the report)!!!!

Please help! Could it be the issue of web-server not configured properly for PHP? Why are session variables creating problems only on a web server and not on a local server? Are these variables getting properly destroyed after the session ends? How do I find out?

Any help will be greatly appreciated in this matter!