1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Advice on starting a web development career

Hi

I am looking for some advice on starting a career in web development programming. I have a good understanding of PHP5, MYSQL,HTML5,CSS3 and XML, also I have a little knowledge of JavaScript and AJAX . I am a little confused about what employers are looking for and to what depth of knowledge they want. All my knowledge is self taught so I have no certificates to my name, will this effect my chance of getting a job?
    Dose anyone have any tips or advice on where to start? I know that applying for a job might be a good place to start but I am worried about wasting my time as I donít think I have enough knowledge and experience yet.
  3. Mad Scientist
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

As a senior tech involved in the recruitment process I need evidence that a new employee can do the job required. This hinges on experience. This can be from previous employment, education and freelance work.

So, look for junior roles and freelance work to get your experience up.

Experience will probably teach you the bits you missed when learning things for yourself - which in 99% of cases is security
    I said I didn't like ORM!!! <?php $this->model->update($this->request->resources[0])->set($this->request->getData())->getData('count'); ?>

PDO vs mysql_* functions: Find a Migration Guide Here

[ Xeneco - T'interweb Development ] - [ Are you a Help Vampire? ] - [ Read The manual! ] - [ W3 methods - GET, POST, etc ] - [ Web Design Hell ]
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

If you have nobody who can vouch for your experience, you should build an online portfolio. Open source the code for some online app of some sort. Even if it's just a blog you wrote entirely yourself, put it out there.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules