1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Array contents - confusion

Hi all

I am pretty new to all this so sorry if my question is simple but I have tried playing around quite a bit with this and cannot understand what is happening inside the array.

I have some very basic code to query a MySQL database and fill an array with the results (the variable is named result). I am having trouble understanding how to use the information from that array, or at least why one method gives the result it does.

Using this first piece of code it succesfully populates the drop down with the 7 items from the table, this kind of proves to me my code loading the array is ok....:

PHP Code:
    <select name="TypeSelection">
        <?php   

echo '<option value="">- Please select -</option>';

$cycle 0;
        while (
    $line $result[$cycle]) 
            {

?> 

<option select name="typeselect" value="<?php echo $line['Type'];?>"> <?php echo $line['Type'];?> </option> 
            <?php
            $cycle
    ++;
            }

?>
    </select>
    However I need to print some of the lines from the array on a spearate part of the page also, I have tried the statements below but all of them just print the word 'Array' to the screen:

PHP Code:
    <?php
    printf
    ($result[3]);
    $temp = ($result[3]);    
    printf ($temp);
    echo 
    $temp;
    ?>
    Please could anyone explain why I get the word array printed and not the item from the table like I get in the first code? I was thinking perhaps it is something to do with selecting the right column in the array or something but I am not sure how to achieve this

Many thanks
    James
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)