1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Barcode, php, mysql

I am very new to Barcode systems, however I have good enough knowledge to create html, php and mysql (light applications) applications.

Using barcode I'd like to achive simplifying our stock take process.

What I was thinking to print a unique id for each product on a barcode:

define following on the mysql database:

id

name
    a product name

size
    a product size

quantity
    number of items in the batch

date entered
    date entered

When the barcode reads the id, by using a simple PHP script with simple HMTL form, I would like to add or delete a product from the database.

How is this possible?

Is there any examples that I can go through?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Most barcode readers can be set to input just like a keyboard. I have mine to also add a carriage return after the input.

So if it reads a barcode for 1234 it will enter 1234 plus a carriage return where ever the prompt is.

You then build a web form with an input field. Use a bit of Javascript to make sure that after you load the page, it drops focus on that field. You scan the number, and it's the same as typing it in, and hitting submit.

Comments on this post

• Northie agrees : That's how I did it
    Thomas Tremain
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by ttremain
    Most barcode readers can be set to input just like a keyboard. I have mine to also add a carriage return after the input.

So if it reads a barcode for 1234 it will enter 1234 plus a carriage return where ever the prompt is.

You then build a web form with an input field. Use a bit of Javascript to make sure that after you load the page, it drops focus on that field. You scan the number, and it's the same as typing it in, and hitting submit.
    Many thanks for your reply. So the example above is for one data field. What about adding multiple fields as:

1) Product ID: 1234