1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Beginner's stuff - GET parameter mode

First of all I want to say that Iím total beginner in php and so, this question may sound somewhat weird. But I need to write some php code for some school task. So, I hope you could help.
    I have a so-called controller file: controller.php. And two template files Ė gallery.tpl and bigpic.tpl. First of them shows all small pictures, the second one is for big picture (one at a time on a page). I need to change the url so that, if I look at some big picture, the url will be something like controller.php?mode=picture&id=1. (I already managed to do this). But if I look at the gallery page, the url should be controller.php?mode=gallery.
    How to do this? Should I put some link to controller.php file?
    Iíve all the necessary code and also a switch statement:

PHP Code:
    $mode="something"
    if (isset(
    $_GET['mode']) && $_GET['mode']!=""){

$mode=$_GET['mode'];
    }

switch(
    $mode){                
     case 
    "gallery":
     require(
    "gallery.tpl");
     break;

case 
    "picture":
     require(
    "bigpic.tpl");
     break;
     } 
    But still, itís not enough yet. How can I tell the controller.php that the mode of the main (gallery) page Ė homepage - shoud be Ągalleryď. If I add gallery.tpl as a default value to switch statement, then it wonít set this mode the way I want it.

Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

First, please enclose your code in [ PHP ] tags. See the sticky at the top of this forum.

Second, you did not post your controller.php so it is not clear what it does. However, if you want to get the proper mode value, then yes you need to include a link with that URL somewhere/somehow.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)