1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Book Recommendations...

Hi All,

First post on the forum, here goes...

I'm new to PHP but am keen to learn more as i really like the language. So far I have gone through a bunch of youtube tutorials (mostly to do with setting up websites with secure logins and such) and have worked through the Sam's Teach yourself guides 'PHP, MySQL and Apache all in one' and 'SQL'. Currently I am working through the 4th edition of "PHP and MySQL for dynamic websites" by Larry Ullman and am coming to the end of it. I was wondering if anyone had recommendations for further reading/self direction with PHP. I was thinking of looking into some books on Object Oriented PHP -or is that too soon?

Any suggestions/info would be greatly appreciated
  3. A Change of Season
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Nobbies beach, Gold Coast. It's beautiful.
    Originally Posted by blackholesun
    Hi All,

First post on the forum, here goes...

I'm new to PHP but am keen to learn more as i really like the language. So far I have gone through a bunch of youtube tutorials (mostly to do with setting up websites with secure logins and such) and have worked through the Sam's Teach yourself guides 'PHP, MySQL and Apache all in one' and 'SQL'. Currently I am working through the 4th edition of "PHP and MySQL for dynamic websites" by Larry Ullman and am coming to the end of it. I was wondering if anyone had recommendations for further reading/self direction with PHP. I was thinking of looking into some books on Object Oriented PHP -or is that too soon?

Any suggestions/info would be greatly appreciated
    Learn this.
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Definitely learn OOP, I don't know how you got to the place you are without it anyway. Two whole books without a class? Ridiculous!

CodeIgniter is good, sure. Any framework might be good for you at this point. Symfony is interesting as well.