1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Can't afford the upgrade cycle

I'm a non programmer, amateur sysadmin. Software that I'm being asked to run is tied to ancient PEAR libaries and PHP4. This sounds horrendous to me. I've said no.

But unfortunately this means a major community charity project involving hundreds of people will be destroyed.

Other than diving into my own wallet to pay a PHP programmer to upgrade the code is there anything I can do to help?

The other problem as I see it is that if we do recode to 5.3 the problem is just going to come round again in a year on the next upgrade cycle.

Looking at my other options I can see alternative software on other platforms but it's not as good and also involves different work. Also these alternatives are used by far less people which doesn't bode well for the future to me.
  3. Mad Scientist
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

set up a dev VPS server with php5.4 or 5.5 on it, copy your app to it and see what breaks.

The syntax hasn't been changed, but it has been added to.

Some functions have been deprecated or removed. The errors you get will highlight these.

The biggest changes are the features and functionality that has been added in and the paradigms which have been opened up - things which you may choose to follow or not.
    I said I didn't like ORM!!! <?php $this->model->update($this->request->resources[0])->set($this->request->getData())->getData('count'); ?>

PDO vs mysql_* functions: Find a Migration Guide Here

[ Xeneco - T'interweb Development ] - [ Are you a Help Vampire? ] - [ Read The manual! ] - [ W3 methods - GET, POST, etc ] - [ Web Design Hell ]
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Note also that you're probably linked to an older version of MySQL (or whatever).