1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Email Verification in User Account System

Hello everyone. I've been using a user register/login/edit system I found in this forums from here: forums.devshed.com/php-faqs-and-stickies-167/how-to-program-a-basic-but-secure-login-system-using-891201.html

Though it states secure, there seems to be a problem. There is no provided email verification for registering or editing your email. I'm still new to PHP, and was wondering if anyone knew how to:

-Add a Email Verification system into the register.php
    -Use the same email verification in edit_account.php

Any answers are appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    ~Jake
  3. Contributing User

Hi, Jake!

Adding email verification is not a tricky matter, but it could not be explained in a single line of code. At least it is bit more complex than login system itself.

You need to generate some secret value for each user, for example md5(rand()) and store it into database along the user data.

Then you need to send email to user asking him to enter this value on a dedicated form or following the link having this value in the attribute. Sending email could be done in several ways depending on framework and server setup you use.

After user visits this form or this link you should check the passed secret value and if it equals to that stored in the database - mark the email address confirmed.

However, if you could not write in PHP yourself, I fear this would not be easy matter to you

Comments on this post

• Jacques1 disagrees : This is extremely insecure.
    CodeAbbey - programming problems for novice coders
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Nooo.