Thread: Foreach

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Foreach

Hey there.

I am working on a website based on wordpress, and i want to generate a table automatically wich will be having a 3 columns width. I want to use a foreach because it uses an external file to serve as "theme" for the content i want within each cell... and i have to do a cicle that, each 3 "<td>" will make a "<tr>"
    In c# i would use
    foreach(int i=0;i<3;i++)
    {
    "code"
    }
    but in php it doesn't work. How can i do this?
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

http://www.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.foreach.php ?

Comments on this post

• GuitarBoyPTG agrees : Helpfull if you know a bit about php programming, as i am a total noob, didn't help much
    IkoTikashi - ikotikashi.de
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

The problem

Thanks for the reply, but that didn't help me much.

The problem is: i read that and got nothing of it. I'm really a noob at programming, and i never did web programming before. i don't really know how to do this. Also i see no similarities between php and c#(i know that that is normal)...
  7. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What you need is actually a for loop, not a foreach loop. A foreach loop is only for iterating over something like an array. I'm pretty sure that's true of C# too.

A for loop in PHP has the same syntax as a for loop in C#, however variables in PHP are different than variables in C#. First, they are always prefixed with a $ sign, and second they do not have types.

PHP Code:
    foreach($i 0$i 3$i++)
    {
    // "code"