Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help needed in $_SESSION variables

Hi:

As you all know, I am a newbie and am picking a lot of PHP knowledge from this website! Thank you all for helping me learn!

However, now I have a serious problem. The web server where my databse management software system, developed in PHP/MySQL, is not allowing me to login, with 'LOGIN UNSUCCESSFUL' message. This message is occurring when username / password combination has been found in the database but the Welcome script is failing because the $_SESSION variables are not getting set properly. When I brought this to the notice of web server administrator, I got the following reply -

"Definitely looks like a Session setting…
    I think you are using the default setting for session path and whenever our server gets rebooted this is giving you a problem.

The best recommended way to use sessions variable is to define your own path within your hosting and give write permission to it through control panel. So no external reboots will affect it.

I will go ahead and give the sessions path the write permission.. But you might want to implement the above procedure."