1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help: New to Web Development

I am self studying to learn web development. I am and Oracle DBA and this is a project that I want to make a?
    hobby and really become really good at. I need to know if html/css/php and mysql is enough to get started as far as learning. This is what I'm studying now. What else should I be learning I need advice on what paths should I take to study. I am the type when I put my mind to it, I get it done, so its just a matter of knowing what should I study. I can't find anyone to give me a straight answer besides go to school for it. I don't mind doing this self study on my on, I know it can be done, I just don't know where to start please help. Thanks in advance

I am trying to build a web application and customer management website with user profiles, I forgot to mention.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Start with PHP. You already know a database, learn how PHP can leverage databases to print data, do analysis, combine results, make a way to really browse/visualize the data.

While you do that, learn the basics of HTML and CSS. you'll pick them up as you need them, like "how do I make a table" or "how do I make a floating div." Read/skim a beginner's HTML/CSS book and you should get an idea of what your options are.

What you didn't mention was JavaScript. Most of the web (save devshed and other sites like it) makes extensive use of JS, to the point where some sites (facebook, gawker, etc.) only have one URL, and the rest is javascript and ajax. Learn javascript, jquery, and ajax.

There's an O'Reilly book which covers MySQL, PHP, and JS. I recommend it, especially for someone already pretty well versed in terminology and tech.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin