Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

The biggest question on my mind after recieveing Core PHP Programming in the mail is weather to intall PHP on to my Win98 box. Also I see that it requires a server to do so...I have Apache, Xitami, and Personal Websever locally to choose from(none installed)....which one of those should I use???

Im new to web scripting and dont know much. I know about HTML though

SO any help would be helpful

Ryan
  3. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Well, I recently managed to get PHP3, Xitami, and MySQL running on a Win95 box. It was pretty straghtforward--but the webserver itself was excruciatingly slow. All this is much more efficient (and fun) in Linux or Unix.

I will try the same with Microsoft PWS, then with Apache for Windows, and let you know which is smoothest.

PHP is the most straightforward server-side scripting language I have seen yet, so I heartily recommend picking it up. I do all my hosting on Unix, but I have to do some IE5 website development on my Win95 laptop, so I need PHP on Windows
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Apache 1.3.12 and OmniHTTPD are both good. If you're not a networker, webadmin, use OmniHTTPD, it is shipped with PHP3, its free. If you want the server to be more customizable, then use Apache. I like apache more, it just *seems* faster.
  7. No Profile Picture

All I wanna do is beable to run PHP on my system ...no services or nothin...just test scupts...so do I need a sever installed??

Thanks for the speedy replies,
    Ryan
  9. Contributing User
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

Yep, you still need a server. My
    recommendation is Apache.

Scott
  11. No Profile Picture

argg...Im gonna put a bullet through my machine one of these days....
    I tried to install apache but when I try to run apache.exe tha dos promt window pos up for a split second then disappears....help!