1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Should I use Laravel Now?

When I had started this : http://forums.devshed.com/php-development-5/taking-up-a-big-php-project-suggestions-please-950319.html
    I didn't know how to use any framework. Now, I started learning laravel and I'm becoming good at it day by day. I've finished a bit of the project. I have just made all the twig templates(which can easily be converted to blade templates)
    So, I'd like to ask, should I keep using the old set of tools to complete the project?
    Or should I switch to Laravel?
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Since we neither know the exact project nor the status of it nor the current code, how are we supposed to evaluate the possible benefits of restarting everything with Laravel?

If you've already implemented 60% of the project with good, solid code, then obviously it wouldn't make a lot of sense to throw it all away and start over. If you're at 10%, and your code isn't the best, then it may indeed make sense to switch to Laravel. We can't tell.

What I generally recommend is to not start a huge project while you're still at an early stage of learning and don't have a solid understanding of tools and architecture yet. You'll get into the current situation again and again. Even if you switch to Laravel, I'm sure you'll later find out that there are other weaknesses. Or maybe you find a framework you like even more. So what now? Start over again? Continue with an implementation that's below your capabilities (which is kind of frustrating)?

I think it's a good idea to start with small projects and complete them, gradually increasing the complexity each time. It allows you to try out different tools, gather experience and still come up with actual results. Sure, you can also gather experience while rewriting some gigantic code base 10 times. But it's kinda frustrating and takes a lot of time for little outcome.