1. A Change of Season
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

How long does it take for me to learn Laravel (Laravel Vs Symphony))

Hi;

Last week my savings got 100k. The same day I lost my job. So I am happy and sad.

I am looking for advice.

I started learning php out of desperation back in 2006.

Since worked for shety companies, always did spaghetti php code... "shet code" my life for a few years.

In 2014 I found Laravel. Tried for a couple months and along the way got introduced to Codeigniter.

Got a project and worked on it for 3 years with CodeIgniter.

Finally learned a bit about MVC and the structure and a decent understanding of how things work.

But never learned the details.

Now I am in Thailand and don't have a job.

My cost is very low so I can last for a while.

This morning my cousin called me from San Fran and said he can invite me for a Laravel OR Symphony position for $140k plus benefits which is good since I am broke.

I consider myself a basic-medium level coder and not that fast.

Don't know much about Laraval or Symphony.

1 - How do recommend I prepare myself for the position so when I go I get the job?
    2 - Laravel Or Symphony?
    3 - Any other tips about anything... hit me

Thanks
  3. Wiser? Not exactly.
    Devshed God 2nd Plane (6000 - 6499 posts)

Can't really say how long it'd take you to learn either. That's kind of a personal thing. I decided to try and learn some frameworks a couple years ago and evaluated both larval and symfony for a couple months. I was starting a couple new projects so I did one in laravel and one in symfony. I found symfony to be more to my liking so that's what I stuck with. It took me a solid 6 months to get a good understanding of the symfony mindset and start working with the framework rather than against it. It's been a little over 2 years now and I still am learning things bout it on deeper and deeper levels.