1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

My First Lines in PHP

Hi, I'm trying to get my first lines in PHP. I have read some tutorials, but since I'm not a programer is a little hard for me to get it straight.

Could someone help me out to put the following javascript into php so I could just call php from my HTML, something like MySelector and get the selector.

<h3><font color="#3EA99F">Categories</font></h3>
    <select id="mySelect" onchange="if(this.options[this.selectedIndex].value != ''){window.top.location.href=this.options[this.selectedIndex].value}">
    <option>Select an option</option>
    <option value="site1">Orange</option>
    <option value="site2">Pineapple</option>
    <option value="site3">Banana</option>
    </select>

Thank you so much
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

You can't turn Javascript into PHP. Javascript is client side and PHP is server side. However, to output your HTML with PHP you simply do this:
    PHP Code:
    echo '
    <h3><font color="#3EA99F">Categories</font></h3>
    <select id="mySelect" onchange="if(this.options[this.selectedIndex].value != ''){window.top.location.href=this.options[this.selectedIndex].value}">
    <option>Select an option</option>
    <option value="site1">Orange</option>
    <option value="site2">Pineapple</option>
    <option value="site3">Banana</option>
    </select>
    '

There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Also, this isn't javascript, it's HTML. Well, a small bit of it is, but not the majority of it.

The new user guide explains more.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin